[INTERVIEW] Interview with USHIJIMA KO

February 26, 2021

By Ahyoung Lee

Ushijima Ko, 181230-1, Sumi ink, mineral pigment, silver powder, silver leaf on handmade paper mounted on wood panel. 84.8x60.0cm, 2018

Hi, Ushijima. Can you introduce yourself to the Art Terms Magazine readers?

Hello. My name is Ko Ushijima and I am a painter based in Kanazawa, Japan.

I am honored to have my work introduced to the Art Terms Magazine.

こんにちは。日本の金沢を拠点に絵の制作をしている牛島孝です。今回は私の作品をthe Art Termsにご紹介いただき、光栄です。

Can you tell us about the process of making your work?

I work on two different types of process. One is a tableau, which I draw on gold or silver foil. The other is a drawing, which I draw on paper using ink or pencil. In both cases, I do not make a rough sketch but improvise when I’m working on my artworks. I want to value the tension that this creates. In addition, I repeatedly erase as much as I draw. Particularly in tableau, the image drawn on the foil can be erased by rubbing it with hot water. My process is to get to the essence of expression by subtracting rather than adding.

私の作品は大きく分けて二種類あります。一つは金や銀の箔を全面に貼った上に描くタブロ、もう一つは紙の上に墨や鉛筆などを使って描くドロイングです。

どちらも下書きはせず、即興的に描いていきます。そのことによって生まれる緊張感を大切にしたいのです。

また、描くことと同じぐらい、消すことを繰り返します。特にタブロでは箔の上に描いたイメジはお湯をかけてこすることで消すことができるのです。

足すのではなく、引くことで表現の本質に迫るのが、私の制作プロセスです。

Installation view, Galleria Ponte, Kanazawa, Japan, 2019 

Is there a reason why you explore the concept of possibility to express modernity in classic Japanese art?

First of all, I like classical Japanese paintings and inspired by them a lot. As I live in the modern world, it is very natural for me to want to take over and follow the history. In addition, from the middle of the 19th century, Japanese art took a major turn toward westernization.