[INTERVIEW] Interview with NORRIS YIM

May 6, 2021

By Kuni Shim

Someone XII, 2021, Acrylic & Oil on Canvas, 75x60cm 

Hi, Norris Yim. Could you introduce yourself to Art Terms Magazine readers? 

I am Norris Yim, a self-taught painter who loves creative design & painting. Art is something I was born fond of, and Ive loved drawing and making sculptures to play with ever since I was in kindergarten.  

How did you decide to be an artist at first? 

I just loved making art and I wanted to continue making art growing up only. Keep looking something inspiring myself more, art is the way to self-seeking. 

Nameless 2121 (Abyss of Darkness), Oil on Canvas, 90x70cm 

Could you tell us about the process of making your work? 

Making the portrait line, paint the details of the eye and ears, started to making the chaotic(Experiment of color) on the face. 

What does your work aim to say?  

Capitalism and hypocritical livingpeople burying their original appearances to survive; new faces replacing old ones; even using makeup becomes [a process of] self-forgetting. Its filled with hypocrisy and fear of life. 

Simply put, people around me look as if theyre without souls, squeezed dry by the city. This has spawned a series of abstract portraits that express my pity and sadness towards society. 

Someone I, 2021, Oil on Canvas, 60x60cm 

What made you draw abstract portraits, not ordinary ones?  

Thats based on my concept to create, i just want to create a portrait without soul, so i making the slashes to represent the face off. 

What is the most important detail or point you consider (when creating artworks)?  

Colour & Layerings first. Now is focus on the eye and ears. 

Someone XIII, 2021, Acrylic & Oil on Canvas, 70x60cm  

We can see various textures in your painting. What is the most difficult experiment you have ever done on texture?